Latest News

Friday, 08 September, 2017

AAVMC Accepting Award Nominations

Washington, D.C., September 8, 2017 –
The Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) is now accepting nominations for four awards for excellence in academic veterinary medicine.

The AAVMC annually presents a series of prestigious awards designed to inspire and recognize professional excellence in teaching, research, service and other areas in academic veterinary medicine. The nomination period is now open for the 2018 series of awards, which will be presented during the AAVMC’s 2018 annual conference in Washington, D.C.

The professional excellence awards that will be presented to faculty and administrators at member institutions include:
  • AAVMC Excellence in Research Award
  • AAVMC Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award, Presented by Zoetis
  • AAVMC Senator John Melcher, DVM Leadership in Public Policy Award
  • AAVMC Billy E. Hooper Award for Distinguished Service
More information, including award criteria and submission information on each award, is available here.

The nomination deadline is October 13, 2017.

The AAVMC is a nonprofit membership organization working to protect and improve the health and welfare of animals, people and the environment around the world by advancing academic veterinary medicine. Members include 49 accredited veterinary medical colleges in the United States, Canada, the Caribbean Basin, Europe, Australia, New Zealand and Mexico.

- 30 -

Jeff Douglas or Jeanne Johnson
AAVMC Communications
Phone: 202/371-9195, x144

Be Social