Latest News

Wednesday, 21 December, 2016

AAVMC Names Award Recipients

WASHINGTON, D.C., December 21, 2016 – The Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) has announced the recipients of four awards that recognize various dimensions of professional excellence and achievement in academic veterinary medicine.

The awards will officially be presented at the AAVMC's 2017 Annual Conference and Iverson Bell Symposium, March 10-12, 2017, at the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington, D.C. This year’s conference is themed "Building a Diverse Workforce to Serve Global Needs.” The Iverson Bell Symposium, named for the first African-American veterinarian to hold the position of vice-president in the American Veterinary Medical Association, is the oldest symposium dedicated to promoting diversity and inclusion in veterinary medicine.

"Recognizing the outstanding educators who continually raise the bar in academic veterinary medicine is a highlight of the year for the AAVMC," said AAVMC Chief Executive Officer Dr. Andrew T. Maccabe. "These dedicated professionals are devoted to preparing the next generation of veterinarians and advancing the frontiers of science and medicine. Thanks to them—and those they inspire through their excellence—the future of veterinary medicine is bright.”

Dr. Steven L. Stockham from the Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine (K-State CVM) is the recipient of the 2016 AAVMC Distinguished Teacher Award, presented by Zoetis. The award, which is considered the most prestigious national teaching award in veterinary medicine, recognizes excellence in professional veterinary medical education and is presented to an educator whose sustained record of teaching excellence and ability, dedication, character and leadership has contributed significantly to the advancement of the profession.

Dr. Stockham, who retired in 2016, is professor emeritus of the K-State CVM Department of Diagnostic Medicine/Pathobiology. He received consistently high student reviews and earned more than 30 teaching awards throughout a 36-year teaching career. His teaching philosophy involves engaging and motivating students through “real life” clinical situations, allowing them to acquire clinical reasoning skills that lead to rewarding, lifelong professional careers.

Dr. Edward B. Breitschwerdt from the North Carolina State University College of Veterinary Medicine (NC State CVM), is the recipient of the 2017 AAVMC Excellence in Research Award. Selected by a committee of peers, the honor designates Dr. Breitschwerdt as the outstanding veterinary medical researcher of the year. The AAVMC Board of Directors established the annual research award in 2010 to recognize outstanding research and scholarly achievements in the field of veterinary medicine. It recognizes an individual who, over the course of his or her career, has demonstrated excellence in original research, leadership in the scientific community, and mentoring of trainees and colleagues in any discipline of veterinary medicine.

Dr. Breitschwerdt is professor of medicine and infectious diseases at the NC State CVM and adjunct professor of medicine at Duke University Medical Center. He directs NC State’s Intracellular Pathogens Research Laboratory in the Comparative Medicine Institute, one of the leading research laboratories in the world generating microbiologically and medically important data on vector borne diseases, particularly human and animal bartonellosis. His research focuses on proving the link between biting insects and hard-to-culture intravascular and intracellular organisms, as well as establishing reliable diagnostic testing methods. His laboratory is currently exploring the cellular and molecular mechanisms by which chronic infection with vector borne pathogens leads to disease in both animals and humans.

Dr. Allen Cannedy, also from the NC State CVM, Is the recipient of the 2017 Iverson Bell Award. The award is presented in recognition of outstanding leadership and contributions in promoting opportunities for under-represented minorities in veterinary medical education. Dr. Cannedy is responsible for securing over $800,000 in diversity-related scholarship funds for under-represented veterinary students at the college, where he lectures, recruits, mentors and advises students. He has developed numerous innovative programs to promote diversity and inclusion throughout his institution and the profession. Thanks to his efforts, one of NC State CVM’s current classes is the most diverse in the school’s history, with 29 percent minority student enrollment slated to graduate in 2019.

Dr. Francisco J. Trigo Tavera is the recipient of the 2017 Billy E. Hooper Award for Distinguished Service, given by the AAVMC to an individual whose leadership and vision has made a significant contribution to academic veterinary medicine and the veterinary profession. Dr. Trigo is vice provost for international affairs at Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México. He founded the Mexican Society of Veterinary Pathologists and has been a leader in advancing and promoting a strong accreditation system in Mexico and Latin America.

The AAVMC is a nonprofit membership organization working to protect and improve the health and welfare of animals, people and the environment around the world by advancing academic veterinary medicine. Members include 49 accredited veterinary medical colleges in the United States, Canada, the Caribbean Basin, Europe, Australia and Mexico.

- 30 -

AAVMC MEDIA CONTACTS:                                                                                             
Jeff Douglas or Jeanne Johnson                                                                                      
Phone:  202/371-9195, x144                                                                                           

Be Social