Latest News

Thursday, 10 October, 2013

AAVMC Establishes COE Selection Committee

Washington, D.C., October 10, 2013 –
The Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC) has established a five-member Council on Education Selection Committee that will appoint members to the American Veterinary Medical Association’s (AVMA) recently restructured Council on Education (COE).

Members include Dr. Sheila Allen, dean, University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine; Dr. Deborah Kochevar, dean and Henry and Lois Foster Professor at Tufts University’s Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine; Dr. Mark Markel, dean, University of Wisconsin School of Veterinary Medicine; Dr. Bryan Slinker, dean, Washington State University College of Veterinary Medicine; and Dr. William “Terry” Swecker, professor and associate department head at the Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine. AAVMC Associate Executive Director for Institutional Research and Diversity Lisa Greenhill will serve as staff liaison.

Appointed by the board, the Council on Education Selection Committee members will serve three-year, staggered terms.  The committee will establish a process for recruiting qualified individuals to serve on the Council on Education, identify and recruit potential candidates and make recommendations to the AAVMC Board of Directors regarding appointments.

The AVMA House of Delegates approved changes in the constitution and operations of the Council on Education during their 2013 annual meeting. Members of the COE will now be appointed for six-year terms by the AAVMC and AVMA instead of being elected by the AVMA House of Delegates.

The Council on Education now includes eight members appointed by the AAVMC and eight members appointed by the AVMA.

As part of the changes, site visits to institutions will now be conducted by individuals who are not current members of the COE.

The structural changes will occur gradually as existing members of the COE complete their terms. The first member of the AAVMC to be appointed to the newly restructured board will begin their term in July 2014.

The AAVMC is a nonprofit membership organization working to protect and improve the health and welfare of animals, people and the environment by advancing academic veterinary medicine. Its members include 35 veterinary medical colleges in the United States and Canada, nine departments of veterinary science, eight departments of comparative medicine, thirteen international colleges of veterinary medicine, and six affiliate colleges of veterinary medicine.


Jeff Douglas or Jeanne Johnson:  
202/371-9195, x144 (office)

Be Social