Veterinarians and University Leadership

December 1, 2018

Editor's Note: This alphabetized list has been compiled through internet research and personal inquiry and remains a work in progress. It is not shared as an absolute and comprehensive list.

Dr. Warwick A. Arden – North Carolina State University

Dr. Warwick Arden is North Carolina State University's Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost and has been in the position since December 2010. Previously, Arden served as interim provost in 2009, and as dean of NC State's College of Veterinary Medicine from 2004 to 2009.

Dr. Warwick M. Bayly – Washington State University

Dr. Warwick M. Bayly served as provost and executive vice president of Washington State University for five years and stepped down on May 31, 2013. He returned to equine research. He was named dean of Washington State University's College of Veterinary Medicine in 2001.

Dr. Timothy Boosinger – Auburn University

Dr. Timothy Boosinger retired as provost and vice president for academic affairs at Auburn University in January 2018. Prior to that position, Dr. Boosinger held academic and administrative positions at the College of Veterinary Medicine, including serving as dean from 1995 to 2011. Dr. Boosinger was named provost in 2012 after serving as interim provost for a year.

Dr. Cyril R. Clarke - Virginia Tech

Dr. Cyril R. Clarke became the interim Executive Vice President and Provost of Virginia Tech on November 1, 2017. In 2007, Clarke was appointed to the position of Lois Bates Acheson Dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine at Oregon State University. He subsequently joined Virginia Tech on October 1, 2013, as Dean of the Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine.

Dr. James Coffman - Kansas State University

Dr. James Coffman served as dean of the Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine from 1984-1987 and provost of Kansas State University from 1987-2004.

Dr. Joe DiPietro – University of Tennessee System

Dr. Joe DiPietro was named the 25th president of the University of Tennessee on January 1, 2011. He recently announced that he will retire on Feb. 14, 2019. Prior to his work at the University of Tennessee, DiPietro served as dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Florida from 1997 to 2006.

Dr. Theresa Welch Fossum – Midwestern University

Dr. Theresa Welch Fossum served founder and director of the Texas Institute for Preclinical Studies and as vice chancellor for Global and Corporate Partnerships at Texas A&M University and was named Vice President for Research and Strategic Initiatives at Midwestern University in 2014.

Dr. Anthony A. Frank - Colorado State University

Dr. Anthony A. Frank served as Associate Dean for Research at the Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences from and was named president of Colorado State University in 2008. On September 30, 2018, it was announced that he will transition to the full-time role of chancellor of the CSU system effective July 2019.

Dr. Lisa C. Freeman – Northern Illinois University

Dr. Lisa C. Freeman was appointed president of Northern Illinois University in September 2018. In 2005, Freeman became the associate dean for Research and Graduate Programs for the Kansas State University College of Veterinary Medicine, and in 2008, she became the associate vice president for Innovation for Kansas State University's Olathe campus.

Dr. Francis D. Galey – Utah State University

Dr. Francis D. Galey served as dean of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources at the University of Wyoming from to 2001 – 2018 and was named Executive Vice President and Provost at Utah State University in August 2018.

Dr. Lawrence E. Heider – University of Prince Edward Island

Dr. Larry Heider served as dean of the Atlantic Veterinary College at the University of Prince Edward Island from 1991-1998 and Acting President of the University of Prince Edward Island in 1998.

Dr. William L. Jenkins – Louisiana State University System

Dr. William L. Jenkins is President Emeritus of the Louisiana State University System. He was appointed dean of the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine in 1988 and was named Provost in 1993. In 1996, he was named Chancellor by the LSU Board of Supervisors.

Dr. Deborah T. Kochevar - Tufts University

Deborah T. Kochevar was named Provost and Senior Vice President ad interim at Tufts University, effective April 16, 2018. She also is Dean and Henry and Lois Foster Professor at the Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts, where she has been since 2006.

Dr. Michael I. Kotlikoff - Cornell University

Dr. Michael I. Kotlikoff, professor of molecular physiology, became the 16th provost of Cornell University on August 1, 2015. Kotlikoff was previously the Austin O. Hooey Dean of Veterinary Medicine at Cornell (2007–2015).

Dr. Frederick Douglas Patterson – Tuskegee University

Dr. Frederick Douglas Patterson served as head of the veterinary division of the Tuskegee Normal and Industrial Institute (predecessor of Tuskegee University) in 1928 and as president of Tuskegee from 1938 - 1953. He went on to found the United Negro College Fund in 1944.

Dr. Anton Pijpers – Universiteit of Utrecht

Dr. Anton Pijpers, former dean of the Veterinary Medicine Faculty at Universiteit of Utrecht, was named president of the Executive Board of the Universiteit of Utrecht on October 1, 2017. He had served as vice president since 2014.

Dr. Alan H. Rebar – Dr. Alan H. Rebar, former dean of the Purdue University College of Veterinary Medicine, was named Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation at North Carolina State University in 2015.

Dr. Alastair J. S. Summerlee – University of Guelph

Dr. Alistair J. S. Summerlee served as associate dean of the Ontario Veterinary College 1992-1994, Provost and Vice President (Academic) at the University of Guelph from 2000-2003, and President and Vice Chancellor, University of Guelph from 2003-2014.

Dr. William J. Tietz - Montana State University

Dr. William J. Tietz, who served as dean of the Colorado State University College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences from 1971-1977, served as president of Montana State University from 1977-1990.