Also Visit:
The Future of Veterinary Medicine

AAVMC Senator John Melcher, DVM Leadership in Public Policy Award

Nomination Period Opens: September 14, 2015
Nomination Deadline: October 16, 2015


Current or former faculty, staff, or student at an AAVMC member institution.

Who may nominate

Any individual employed at an AAVMC member institution. Nominations are automatically reconsidered for three years. Nominators will be notified each year, and given an opportunity to update the information for their nominee.


The awardee will be notified in December 2015. The awardee is expected to attend the AAVMC Annual Conference and Iverson Bell Symposium in March 2016 to receive the award. Awardee's reasonable costs (registration, travel, housing, meals) for attending the Annual Conference will be covered by AAVMC.

What to submit
  1. Nomination letter addressing the award criteria (see below).
  2. The nominee's current C.V.
Where to submit materials

Materials should be submitted by email to

Award criteria
  1. Leadership in public policy which advances veterinary medical education.
  2. Advocating for veterinary medical education on a national or international scale.
Award committee

The AAVMC Leadership Committee serves as the award committee. The committee forwards their recommendation the AAVMC Executive Committee for approval.

Background of the award and recent past recipients

The Board of Directors established the Senator John Melcher, DVM Public Policy Leadership Award in 2007. The award is given for leadership in public policy for advancing veterinary medical education.

Past recipients of the AAVMC Senator John Melcher, DVM Leadership in Public Policy Award

       2015    Dr. L. Garry Adams
       2014    Dr. John Herrmann
       2013    Dr. William Hueston
       2012    Dr. Lonnie King
       2011    Dr. John Thomson
       2010    Dr. Lawrence Heider
       2009    Dr. Bennie Osburn
       2008    Dr. Leon Russell
       2007    Senator John Melcher
Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Saskatchewan’s Freeman Assumes Leadership of AAVMC

Becomes First Non-U.S. College President

read more Friday, June 24, 2016

New Leadership for AAVMC Leadership Academy

read more Monday, May 23, 2016

Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences Wins 2016 AAVMC Excellence in Communications Award

read more Tuesday, May 17, 2016

Council for International Veterinary Medical Education Established

read more Journal of Veterinary Medical Education