Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges

News| Jobs| Events| Partners| Contact Us
The Premier Association Serving Academic Veterinary Medicine

Finance Committee

The members of the Finance Committee are the Treasurer, who serves as Chair; the President-Elect; and three representatives from member institutions. Non-voting committee members include the fiscal officer of the Chair’s institution, and other fiscal officers of Committee members that may choose to participate. The Treasurer has a two-year term. All other committee members are appointed by the AAVMC President in consultation with the Board of Directors for three-year terms. The AAVMC Chief Operating Officer serves as an ex-officio non-voting member and as the staff liaison.


  1. Review and recommend to the board for approval an annual budget for the organization in collaboration with the Executive Director and the Chief Operating Officer.
  2. Review monthly financial reports as prepared by the Chief Operating Officer.
  3. Recommend financial policies and procedures.
  4. Meet quarterly by conference call to review AAVMC financials and receive updates from Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer.
  5. Meet face-to-face at AAVMC Annual Conference.
  6. Serve as a resource to Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer.
  7. Review all non-budgeted expenditures over a set dollar amount to be determined by the Board of Directors, and recommend action to the Board.
  8. Assist the Treasurer in creating quarterly and annual reports to the Board and Assembly.
  9. Monitor AAVMC reserves and receive notice of all account transactions.
  10. Monitor revenue streams.
  11. Annually review member dues structures and make recommendations for increases to the Board.
  12. Arrange for an annual audit with submission of same to the Board.
  13. Ensure the appropriate response to audit findings.
  14. Annually evaluate its work as a committee and the objectives it has committed itself to and report on same to the Board of Directors.

2013 – 2014 Committee Roster

Douglas Freeman, Chair  (Treasurer)
Dean, Western College of Veterinary Medicine
University of Saskatchewan
Trevor Ames (President-Elect)
Dean, College of Veterinary Medicine
University of Minnesota
Phil Nelson (Assistant Treasurer)
College of Veterinary Medicine
Western University of Health Sciences
Joseph McManus
Associate Dean for Finance and Administration 
Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine
Tufts University
Karla Meadows
Business Manager 
College of Veterinary Medicine
Auburn University
Ralph Hildebrandt, Fiscal Officer (non-voting)
Director of Operations and CFO, Western College
of Veterinary Medicine
University of Saskatchewan
Dotty Gray, Ex-Officio and Staff Liaison
Chief Operating Officer
Mark Stodter, Staff Liaison
Accounting Manager


Find a Veterinary School Near You! Wednesday, July 23, 2014

The World’s Oldest Veterinary Medical College in Lyon, France, Joins the AAVMC

read more Thursday, July 10, 2014

The AAVMC’s VEC Symposium Sharpens Skills, Celebrates Teaching

read more Journal of Veterinary Medical Education